The Last Ride

Large Animal Removal and Disposal


The Grieving Pet Owner: Dealing with the Stages of Grief

Grieving Pet Owner

Following the loss of a pet, it is perfectly normal to experience the same feelings as when losing a human. As such, you may find yourself passing through the same five stages of grief. Understanding these stages and knowing that they are perfectly normal can help you to better get through this difficult time.

Grieving Pet Owner

Grieving Pet Owner

Stage #1: Denial

The defense mechanism of denial helps to buffer the immediate shock caused by the death of a loved one.

Step #2: Anger

As the pain sets in, you deflect the emotions and express them as anger. You may take this anger out on inanimate objects, friends, family or even complete strangers.

Step #3: Bargaining

Following the death of a loved one, you feel helpless and vulnerable. Bargaining, which is typically characterized by second-guessing your decisions, is your attempt to regain control of the situation.

Step #4: Depression

As reality sets in, so does the sadness. This stage can often be overcome with simple clarification and reassurances.

Step #5: Acceptance

This stage is characterized by withdrawal and calm. While you may never be completely over the loss of your pet, you are now ready to move on without experiencing constant feelings of sadness.

Coping with the death of a pet can be difficult. The Last Ride offers dignified and respectful Phoenix animal removal services that are designed to help make the process as easy for you as possible.